UV5R Short Review and Tip | Preparednessdaily.com

Subscribe:   Posts           Preparednessdaily.com

RSS

UV5R Short Review and Tip

Sat, Sep 1, 2012

Videos

23 Responses to “UV5R Short Review and Tip”

  1. radiosification Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 8:38 am

    asking that question and expecting a straight figure is like asking how long is a piece of string

  2. BenTheBondsman1 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 8:55 am

    FINALLLLLLY, I got my VERY OWN TROLL, geez thanks guys. I really don’t know what to say. Is it my birthday or something??

  3. BenTheBondsman1 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 8:55 am

    There are WAY too many variables to answer that directly. But on average, you should get at least 1/2 mile with at “stock” baofeng.

  4. BenTheBondsman1 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 9:40 am

    Not quite THAT far south, Mississippi. Same channel, different station

  5. accountsacquisition Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 9:41 am

    Damn, someone, give me the bottom line. What max distance will these transmit handset to handset!

  6. marcclarke01 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 10:29 am

    Terrible camera work; fuzzy and out of focus. Ouch!

  7. AgeOfDarkness94 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 10:53 am

    I recognized that radio station as tthe former 107.9 WIRK. You live in south florida don’t you? haha

  8. EastCoastPrepper Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Yeah and if you want it to not work take both batteries out…

  9. BenTheBondsman1 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    YEA, What she said!!

  10. xxRenaissanceManxx Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    if you need less power, just take out 1 AA battery. how you dooin

  11. scodurh Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    Mmmm Ham
    Praise Albert

  12. BenTheBondsman1 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    You are correct and wrong at the same time. You can operate on GMRS with 5 watts and the radio would be illegal on FRS since the antenna detaches, but who cares? There are LOTS of VHF & UHF channel that DO NOT require a license a license, they are “DOT” and “STAR” freqs. If you are using them to communicate with your own group, those are fine. Besides, I have NEVER met a FRS cop

  13. FlyBoy276 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    They are capable of operating on FRS/GMRS frequencies, but technically, it would be illegal to do so, since FRS is limited to 0.5W, and low power on this radio is 1W. GMRS also requires a “license.” Anyways, the tech (and general) license tests for the Amateur Radio Service are simple, and I encourage everyone even remotely interested to study and go for it.

  14. BenTheBondsman1 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    It would be illegal to operate on the HAM bands without a license, but these radios are capable of operating on “civilian” bands as well. It is not illegal to LISTEN on the HAM bands though and in a “declared emergency” it is not illegal to TALK on the HAM bands. They are good to have just in case

  15. RyleDup0766 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    Is it illegal for someone to operate this radio using it for a 2 way radio?

  16. BenTheBondsman1 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    Any radio that you can both talk and listen on is a two way radio. HAM, CB. FRS, etc refer to the type of radio. The HAM radios have several different bands and there are different types that do different things. In order for 2 radios to talk to each other, they have to be on the same frequency so that means they have to be in the same bands range. A CB radio cannot talk to a FRS radio, but a HAM radio in the right configuration could talk to both a CB and FRS radio.

  17. apatkos22 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    so whats the difference between a 2 way and a cb radio?
    again sorry im a beginner here and i don’t know anything pretty much

  18. BenTheBondsman1 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Maybe different specs on the antenna but my radio is a tight fit as well, I like that though, if the radio can bounce around it may get damaged.

  19. BenTheBondsman1 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    This radio is a two way radio that is on the HAM bands

  20. Boromonkey Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    Ah! Well, after trimming the rubber away from the area where the volume knob fits, I somehow got just enough clearance in the depth to close the case with the antenna in the lid. Tight, but pressure points are on the radio case, not buttons, etc. Nice!

    Thanks for the vid!
    73

  21. Boromonkey Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Just got two Pelican 1010 cases to go with the two uv-5r’s I just got…..they don’t fit. That is to say, the radios fit VERY tight and the antennas don’t even remotely fit. The case is too shallow. Guess I’ll trim some rubber from the inside and then just rubber-band the antenna to the outside. Not too worried about water anyway.

    I wonder what’s different from yours……

  22. 8592291613 Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    love my handy dandy uv-5r nothing beats the price have the battery elimanator speaker microphone and uhf for using on my dual band antenna on car

  23. 52telebender Says:
    September 1st, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    Good commentary on this neat little dual band bargain! Just got one & am still debating which programing software to try first, since supposedly they’re a bottomless well of exasperation to manually program, however I will try that too, just to find out firsthand. The little Pelican case will be a must too! Tnx for sharing this info! 73!

]]>

Recent Posts

]]>

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *